American Veterinary Medical History Society
Main Meetings Purpose Officers ByLaws Archives Join Us! Links
gold bar
2009/10 Smithcors Essay Contest
J. Fred Smithcors

Student Veterinary History Essay Contest

Because history has a lot to tell us about our profession and ourselves

Beginning in 1991, an annual essay contest sponsored by the American Veterinary Medical History Society was established.  This contest aims to encourage interest in history by encouraging participation by students enrolled in veterinary medical colleges in the United States, Canada, and Caribbean.

It is named in honor of J. Fred Smithcors, DVM, PhD   for his many contributions to veterinary history as founder of the American Veterinary Medical History Society, author of several books on veterinary history, educator, publisher, and editor.

Winners are selected by a panel of AVMHS judges and receive cash prizes* of:

 First Prize $750
 Second Prize $500
 Third Prize  $250

Since its inception, prizes have been generously donated by Merck & Company.
* These prize amounts are subject to change.

In addition, every student that submits an essay that follows the guidelines will receive a complimentary one-year membership in the Society that includes two issues of Veterinary Heritage and the latest edition of The Merck Veterinary Manual.  The Society reserves the right to publish meritorious essays in whole or part in Veterinary Heritage: Bulletin of the American Veterinary Medical History Society.

More information concerning eligibility, suitable topics, essay criteria, and other details is available at:

Click here for submission guidelines.

Click here for an entry form.

Click here for a list of former contest winners.

The deadline for the 2009/10 Essays is 1 April 2010 (please have your essays postmarked no later that this date).

 5 copies of the manuscript and an entry form should be mailed to:

 Russell W. Currier, DVM, MPH
Chair, AVMHS Veterinary History Essay Committee
1864 NW 151 Court
Clive   IA   50325

In addition, please send one pdf version of your paper to Dr. Currier at
Please note you must still send the 5 paper copies to the address above!


2009 Winners

First place paper:
Ashley Mitek, U of Illinois:  From Early Man to Man o' War: A History of the Cribbing Horse 

Second place paper:
Valerie Livingston, KSU: Foot and Mouth Disease: A Story of Resilience

Third place paper:
Tiffany Lee, KSU: Brisket Disease in Cattle: A Brief Overview and History


This Page Last updated 18 September, 2009